The Most Adorable Bird

The Horned Grebes must be the cutest birds ever. I look for them whenever I walk on the beach or stroll out on a Port Townsend pier in the winter. Horned Grebes are the ones bobbing along not too far from shore in pairs or a threesome, diving every few seconds for small fish and other animals. Their soft, spotted feathers and unexpected red eyes make me want to pick one up and hold it close like a young chick. They don’t notice me when I’m above them on the pier, so I can get close enough to photograph them. Are you wondering why they are “Horned”? In summer for their breeding plumage, when they live in Western Canada and Southern Alaska, the black behind their eyes turns into yellow tufts they can raise and lower. Just like little horns. I’d love to see that!

Write a comment

Comments: 2
  • #1

    towarzyskie (Wednesday, 18 January 2017 01:38)

    pijaniuteńki

  • #2

    seks telefony (Wednesday, 18 January 2017 08:26)

    prymus