Anomalous Anemones

I used to think that anemones were attractive, but gentle and dull creatures. Then I watched some anemones devour whole Shore Crabs on Port Townsend beaches, absorbing the poor things claws and all. I realized a colony of Aggregating Anemones would attack another colony just inches away on the same stone, poisoning the closest neighbors with their soft tentacles. Volunteering at the Marine Science Center, I clean touch tanks with several colorful anemone species, even a red and green striped fellow called the Christmas Anemone. The staff pointed out this Pink-tipped Green Anemone that is cloning itself, slowly splitting into two right down its middle! I still believe anemones are attractive, and now I realize they're also fierce and determined survivors.

Write a comment

Comments: 0